letpana.blogg.se

Mac i3 window manager
Mac i3 window manager






Uncomment # the following line to have the injection performed # when the config is executed during startup. # the scripting-addition must be loaded manually if # you are running yabai on macOS Big Sur. This will allow us to conveniently update yabai via our package manager in the future.

mac i3 window manager

yabai allows you to control your windows, spaces and displays freely using an intuitive command line interface and optionally set user-defined keyboard shortcuts or other third-party software. Yabai is a window management utility that is designed to work as an extension to the built-in window manager of macOS. In fact, I’m very happy with the result, because it covers 90% of the features that made me love i3wm for years.

mac i3 window manager

Over time I have learned to appreciate i3 very much and nowadays I can’t work without it! Thanks to a great colleague (thanks Marcel aka who went through the same pain, I got some great tips to get an i3wm feeling on MacOS. I have worked with window managers under Linux for years. I think I am not the only one in this situation. Although MacOS is known to be very user-friendly and to offer a nice, clean and minimal UI, I actually had a lot of trouble switching my workflow at first.

mac i3 window manager

I’m sure some people are laughing now, but the year 2021 is the first time in my life that I own an Apple product. Recently I was forced to leave my beloved Linux setup because I got a Macbook from my new employer.








Mac i3 window manager